to hazpak home page contact us about us
products service frequently asked questions sitemap

Top 5 FAQs


What is a
packing Group?


1 Why can't I get just a 4G UN box?
2 What is a Packing Group?
3 What is the difference between a Class 6.2 Packaging system and a 650 Packaging system?
4 What is a Limited Quantity package?
5 What is an Excepted Quantity package?

See complete list of FAQs


As well as a the nine different 'Class' designators indicating the type of hazard a dangerous goods presents, a 'Packing Group' is assigned to dangerous goods according to the degree of hazard they present. These are as follows:

Packing Group I    =   great danger
Packing Group II   =   medium danger
Packing Group III  =   minor danger

Classes 3 and 4, Divisions 5.1 and 6.1 and Class 8 and some Class 9 substances have Packaging Groups assigned to them. Packing Groups are not assigned to Class 1 'explosives'; Class 2 'gases' and 'gas mixtures'; Class 6.2 'infectious substances' or Class 7 'radioactives.' Packaging Group designators are always written in Roman numerals. For example PG 11.

When performance testing a dangerous goods package in order to determine that the design of the package meets the minimum performance criteria required by the UN, and to attain the mandatory UN approval, the Packaging Group of the product to be transported in the package is one of the factors that determines the test protocol. Testing conducted on a package for a P.G. I product is considerably more stringent than the testing requirements for a P.G. III product.


Products | Services | FAQs

Contact Us | About Us

sitemap | home

44 Stephen Road Dandenong South Victoria 3175 Australia
Postal Address: P.O. Box 4000 Dandenong South, Victoria, Australia, 3164

Telephone: +61 3 9706 8058 Fax: +61 3 9706 7593